I will write this post in English for a change 😆

 

On Saturday, we took my father in law to search for Snowy owls at the Toronto airport.

I have been spotting Snowy owls near my work and saw a few sightings on the eBird website over the last few weeks.

With that confirmation, we headed out in hopes to see these beautiful owls.

 

We took him (well, he drove so he took us) to the area of the airport where most people think they cannot get in.

Thanks to my work being nearby, I am familiar with the area and could navigate us through my secret birding spots in the airport that we have seen some Snowy owls in the last few years.

 

As we drove, there was no sight of Snowy owls but have managed to see some Red-tailed Hawks hunting mice, flying and maneuvering in the wind.

As much as it is exciting to see these beautiful birds, I think it was more interesting for my father in law to see all the airplanes landing and taking off so close by.

My secret (well, not so secret to some of us) birding spots are right next to the runway and is also a perfect spot for plan watching ✈️✈️

 

Since our search didn’t yield any owls, we decided to drop by at my friend’s work to say Hi.

As we got off the car, my husband spotted a Snowy owl sitting on top of the building where my friend works.

She (or could be Juvenile male) was just sitting and enjoying the wind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It almost looks like she was smiling at us.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After saying bye to the Snowy owl, we carried on to Colonel Sam Smith Park in hopes of seeing a Long-eared owl again.

 

We went straight to the tree where we have seen owls a few weeks ago but there was no sign of them.

We have ran into other birders but they also said they haven’t seen any that day.

As we all walked back to our car, I went out to see one last time to check.

To my surprise, I found a Cooper’s Hawk quietly sitting on a tree 3 feet off the ground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cooper’s Hawk

It was well blended in with the surrounding bleak trees and we must have walked by it the first time.

Cooper’s Hawk is a regular visitor in people’s backyard and eat songbirds.

In fact, it visited my father in law’s backyard a few times and they have sent us some pictures of it sitting on their porch.

 

The Sharp-shinned Hawk is a similar bird but its size is a lot smaller, comparable with Blue Jays or Doves.

By the size of it, we are sure this was a Cooper’s Hawk as it was well bigger than the size of a Blue Jay.

 

We were lucky to see a Snowy owl and a Cooper’s Hawk today and I am glad to see my father in law enjoyed watching them (and airplanes 😃)

 

Here are some pictures of the Snowy owls we saw near my work last year and the year before.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Winter 2013 on Viscount Rd
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Taking off
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Winter 2015 Toronto Airport

 

Happy Birding 🐤🐤🐤🐤

