I’ve been noticing that there is an American Kestrel in the parking lot at my work the last few days.

One morning I noticed that an American Kestrel was sitting on the light post.

I went out to check during lunch time and saw him still sitting on the light post in the same area.

Then I went out again during my afternoon break only to find out that he is still there!

 

Next day, I brought my husband’s camera hoping to see him again.

 

I came to work a bit early on that day not only to find one but two!

 

It seems that they are a pair.

One of my secret hobbies is to name birds that I see frequently.

They weren’t an exception. I named them Ken and Jenny ❤️‍

 

As Kestrels are year around residents, I am hoping this pair will nest here.

 

American Kestrels don’t collect branches to build nests. They nest in cavities such as old woodpecker holes or natural tree hallows.

 

I’ve seen a Kestrel come out from a hole in the building next door and I suspect that might be their nest.

 

American Kestrel’s population decline is significant in recent years. I do hope that this pair will be successful for breeding.

 

American Kestrel is the smallest falcon in North America but can take down larger birds such as Hawks and Owls.

They can see ultraviolet light so they can track the trails of urine of their prey.

I hope to see them hunt someday.

It is now time to introduce Ken and Jenny ☺️

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
American Kestrel Male (Ken)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ken
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
American Kestrel Female (Jenny)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ken
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Perched on the post
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Jenny (left) and Ken (right)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I found this House Finch female singing its heart out, thought she is really cute 😃

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Happy Birding!!! 🐤🐤🐤

